Art

Raphael's Angels

A man should hear a little music, read a little poetry,
and see a fine picture every day of his life,
in order that worldly cares may not obliterate the sense of the beautiful
which God has implanted in the human soul.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Personally, I experience the greatest degree of pleasure in having contact with works of art.
They furnish me with happy feelings of an intensity such as I cannot derive from other realms.
Albert Einstein

I saw the angel in the marble and carved until I set him free.
Michelangelo Buonarroti

Painting is poetry that is seen rather than felt,
and poetry is painting that is felt rather than seen.
Leonardo da Vinci

Paint what you really see, not what you think you ought to see;
not the object isolated as in a test tube,
but the object enveloped in sunlight and atmosphere,
with the blue dome of Heaven reflected in the shadows.
Claude Monet

Art washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.
Pablo Picasso

7 thoughts on “Art”

  1. saw the angel in the marble ..and CARVED to set him free, we should all be working, to set our vision free ..to make it come to pass! how good is this quote!! I love it…THANKS

  2. The angel in the marble – I feel like that’s what God sees when he looks at me. He’s the only one who can see it, though, and he keeps carving. I’m not always a fan of the process, but I can’t wait to see myself when he’s done.

Leave a Reply

