3. Advent

xmas tree

Christmas…that magic blanket that wraps itself about us,
that something so intangible that it is like a fragrance.
It may weave a spell of nostalgia.
Christmas may be a day of feasting,
or of prayer,
but always it will be a day of remembrance–
a day in which we think of everything we have ever loved.
Augusta E. Rundel

Christmas is not in tinsel and lights and outward show.
The secret lies in an inner glow.
It’s lighting a fire inside the heart.
Good will and joy a vital part.
It’s higher thought and a greater plan.
It’s glorious dream in the soul of man.
Wilfred A. Peterson


18 thoughts on “3. Advent

Add yours

  1. Jonie love the wisdom in here. For some it is a difficult time of the year and we need to think of those folks and this is a lovely way of putting it to them . Bless you for your sensitivity. Wonderful.

  2. Beautiful Jonie, it can be a very difficult and lonely time and I agree with the last comment, this is so sensitive. We also need to remember what it really is about… Lovely post.

  3. We always think in this Jesus celebration, our loved ones are gone, but where they are, now they are all brothers and sisters, as will we when we get there, they know each other, we will not be spouses, sons etc.Let join us to this event as brothers in Jesus here on Earth.

  4. Jonie you stir the spirit of anticipation of the coming day of celebration. The world has commercialized it for the sake of money only. Therein is the seed of difficulties and loneliness during a time of the year that is meant to be filled with peace and great joy. Thank you Little Sister, for your lifting up of our Lord and Savior daily not only here within your blog, but in your whole life also. I join you each day in your celebration of the new life that Jesus brings us. God bless you Jonie as you continue to be a witness to and for the Glory of God.

  5. YES I THINK OF MY PARENTS AND ALL THE WONDERFUL PEOPLE I TOOK CARE OF THROUGH THE YEARS……AND ALL THAT HAVE PASSED. BUT I KNOW THAT GOD IS AMONG US AND ONE DAY WE WILL ALL BE HAPPY……THANKS FOR THE BEAUTIFUL PAGE OF WISDOM….:-))

  6. love this line in the second poem; “Christmas is not in tinsel and lights and outward show. The secret lies in an inner glow.” by wilfred peterson. great reminders of what christmas really is about.

  7. Jonie, I read this one through once .. and it evoked some sad reminders and “old feelings” I wasn’t at first sure how to respond to in my “inner man” .. so in my indecision I decided to read some of the comments below, and it was SO GOOD for me to do that, because in doing so I realized it’s not only “me” that has sadness or traumatic memories linked to the Christmas season.
    And Jonie, what really “CEMENTED” and “gelled” it all into place for me was where you quoted Augusta E. Rundel’s words::
    “…Always it will be a day of remembrance .. a day in which we think of everything we have ever loved …”
    And so, my friend, I say THANK YOU for bringing me meaningful understanding THIS Christmas of a “heartache memory” that has haunted me every Christmas since 2002 .. because my heartache was connected to someone I love SO INCREDIBLY much…!!.. And I can confidently say that 8 years down the line, I’m SO GLAD that I have this “added” revelation, that it can now be a REMEMBRANCE of “THAT ONE” THAT I LOVED BACK THEN, FOR WHOM I MADE A CRUCIALLY IMPORTANT DECISION, to save them from themselves.. BECAUSE OF LOVE .. and who I have the privilege and JOY of spending time with THIS Christmas, in MUCH happier circumstances! I’m SO glad for LOVE – and for PERSEVERENCE!
    Thanks for being a part of my new comfort!! Hugs, friend!! X X

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

