Our Children

Unique

Each second we live is a new and unique moment of the universe,
a moment that will never be again.
And what do we teach our children?
We teach them that two and two make four,
and that Paris is the capital of France.
When will we also teach them what they are?
We should say to each of them:
Do you know what you are?
You are a marvel. You are unique.
In all the years that have passed,
there has never been another child like you.
Your legs, your arms, your clever fingers, the way you move.
You may become a Shakespeare, a Michelangelo, a Beethoven.
You have the capacity for anything.
Yes, you are a marvel.
And when you grow up, can you then harm another who is, like you, a marvel?
You must work, we must all work, to make the world worthy of its children.

Pablo Picasso

8 thoughts on “Our Children

Add yours

  1. I am certainly humbled by this offering – it is so grounding and so very true. May I never forget just how unique and special the miracles are that Father has granted to me – be they my own or those who I care for. Thank you Jonie for your availability to sharing wisdom like this well done.

  2. TODAY Jonie, you have been the “voice” of God for me as I’ve read this one entitled “Our Children”
    … and I feel so utterly BLESSED by what God has CONfirmed and AFFirmed through it!
    I was visiting a good friend today, and we were talking about motherhood and what it’s meant for each of us individually, and I shared with her how I “invested” into my young sons’ lives (long, long ago), telling them & showing them they were special … and beautiful … and loved … and gifted … and wanted … and appreciated … and just everything that would “build” them up!
    And we discussed how they don’t always grow up believing those things for their own lives; yet, it doesn’t “take away” from what we imparted to them . . .
    And then I read “Our Children” here, and I felt God’s approval upon my life, for what I strived to do for my children, in my role as their mother … and I know what I did was RIGHT!!
    And I feel humbly fulfilled in that knowledge … and S-O amazed, because God has given me TWO confirmations today, of the things my friend and I discussed this morning!
    Thank you for your availability in being HIS “instrument” in my life!! Hugs xx xx xx

  3. I think I am gonna remember this image for ever. It’s so intriguing!

    And the quote has appealed to my “inner child”, one can never grow up like, totally! I am beginning to feel like a marvel! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

