Music

music

Whoever wants music instead of noise,
joy instead of pleasure,
soul instead of gold,
creative work instead of business,
passion instead of foolery,
finds no home in this trivial world of ours.
Hermann Hesse

Music isn’t just a pleasure, a transient satisfaction.
It’s a need, a deep hunger; and when the music is right, it’s joy.
Love. A foretaste of heaven. A comfort in grief.
Is it too much to think that perhaps
God speaks to us sometimes through music?
How, then, could I be so ungrateful as to refuse the message?
Orson Scott Card

There’s music in the sighing of a reed;
There’s music in the gushing of a rill;
There’s music in all things, if men had ears:
Their earth is but an echo of the spheres.
Lord Byron

The earth has music for those who listen.
William Shakespeare

9 thoughts on “Music

Add yours

  1. Music isn’t just a pleasure, a transient satisfaction.
    It’s a need, a deep hunger; and when the music is right, it’s joy.
    Love. A foretaste of heaven. A comfort in grief.
    Is it too much to think that perhaps
    God speaks to us sometimes through music?
    How, then, could I be so ungrateful as to refuse the message?
    Orson Scott Card

    Music is my life, my inspiration, the lifting of my spirits to a joy unknown where I communicate my love, my heart to my Lord and Saviour singing joyously to my worship music.
    with the sweet voice the Lord has created in me.
    Classical music rises up memories of my parents love for the great composers. I went to sleep at night listening to them as Mum found solace on sleepless nights.
    Singing in choirs with many other voices in complete harmony brought a richness to my life and my soul throughout my years before I turned to the Lord.
    A foretaste of Heaven? What bliss to know that there is more to come 🙂

  2. Shakespeare’s words sum it up perfectly, these are all lovely Jonie. I also loved the words of Herman Hesse.

  3. oh beautiful words to come by. thanks Jonie. i love it. Happy Wednesday and blessings to you….jean xo

  4. What a lovely topic to choose as your starting point for 2011 …!!
    I love meaningful music .. it can affect me very positively! Thanks Jonie!! xx

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

